2013©myronunrau

Charming Stuff from Days Gone By or “Scheiss Chanderli!”


It’s a Sunday morning. Well, outside anyways. Inside I’m still in bed, my head full of dreamy bits, my body asleep and relaxed. It’s not early, it’s not late. A relatively quiet time. Even asleep I can sense the quieter Sunday morning solitude  and I enjoy the abbreviated traffic noises from the main road that cuts through this village through the open window of my bedroom.

On weekdays the traffic noises begin to build around 04:30 and I’m certain most of that early morning rush is bakers on their way to their trades but on Saturdays and Sundays it is relatively calm out there.

What the hell am I writing about? I’ll tell you. It’s the Kandertalbahn.  Go look it up on Facebook if you want. They have a page. It is an old steam driven railway line that runs the same stretch back and forth every Sunday for tourists, the curious and hobbyists from the first day of May all the way through the 20th day of October.

2013©myronunrau

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes it’s quaint, it’ pretty, it’s historic, it’s old, it’s in working condition, it brings in money and tourists, but it also is loud and irritating to many who live along its iron line.

Between Wagons

Between Wagons

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Sure, it’s lovely to see something from days gone by, watch something like that chugging  back and forth, forwards and backwards along track through a picturesque, lush and fertile bucolic valley landscape of farm fields, small quaint villages that lie 2 or so kilometers apart from the next and green capped forested hills. What’s not to like about that?

©2011myronunrau

Bucolic southern German landscape

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
No argument there, but sorry no, I’ve not ridden it yet; not when I lived here as a teen nor since I’ve been back. In fact I was planning to do that this summer but that urge shrivels on my ‘things to do’ list every time that shrieking noise makes me cringe, six times every Sunday. And the worst of it is that sometimes I wish that I could somehow prevent that blasted whistle from issuing it’s evil sound. No surprise though that if I lived further away from the tracks I wouldn’t really give a rats ass what kind of noise that train made but what I’m afraid of is that if I were to visit somewhere else and heard such a whistle, I might believe it to be sunday.

©2013myronunrau

Light Detai

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What gets me and what I can’t get my head around is that this is Germany after all, a peace and quiet loving folk. They are known to enforce the Sabbath strickly where naught is done around the house if it makes any kind o f ‘working’ noise on the Lords day; one does that on Saturday. It’s not like N. America, not at all. But that damned infernal noise is apparently ok. Go figure.

2013©myronunrau

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I just heard the last shrill whistle blast of the day, for this whistle stop.

Now I get to listen to the receding if still muffled and audible whistle blasts as the  loathsome Chanderli chuggs its metal way back to Kandern to await for its next weekends annoying assault on many ears. Frustratingly I just now realize that I still have two months of Sundays to get through. Grrrr …

 

Leave a Reply

