iphoneographythis©2012,2012©myronunrau

The first soup of fall


Light high flying coastal clouds defuse a pale blue late September sky as my appetite and comfort needs turn to the soul enriching flavors of true soups, made from scratch and not a few cupful/handfuls of love and pride in the act of creating edible ecstasy in a large pot for the dinner bowl and spoon set.

My lime green cast iron/enamel pot is settled onto the stove, it’s lid firmly, nay heavily fit into place sealing in the goodness of my first autum sojourn into my world of hearty soups. I’ll check under the near manhole cover weighted lid in an hours time now. Let the ingredients relax and release their natural benefits.

Yeah, I did think of taking some photos while in the process of chopping and adding and stirring and now the waiting/cooking but couldn’t be bothered  much with fiddling around my my digital eyeball just then. I’ll show the finished result later instead (then it will be now for you).

I will tell of the idea and how I begat this particular version of hearty goodness.

It always begins with the mention of a certain food or a feeling I get at this particular time of the year. Soup is what begins. Soup season if you will and I love soup season.

Today I began with 3L of water into which I slow cooked two small roughly diced onions, one bay leaf and two beef bullion cubes (salted only much later); add to that a fair and reasonable yet not over the top amount of dried split peas and lentils of your choice. To this combination I added two bunches of baby carrots, again roughly diced/chopped, another diced small onion. For color I added on whole Okanagan red pepper, along with three thick sliced of ginger for medicinal flavouring. I also added four cubed yellow potatoes at the end for excess salt absorption. For meat I used two kinds. I roughly diced two red wine chorizo sausages that I got at Cioffis an hour ago. I started by frying it in a large skillet. To that I added a reasonably largely diced 1.7lbs of natural stew beef pieces. Fried those up well, adding the leftover of the super spicey raspberry jam (I mixed three drops of Dave’s Insanity Sauce (great color) for some extra flavor enhancement. I do this because then when the meat is transfered to the iron soup pot for tenderizing slow cooking its flavor mixes with the building/expanding/developing soup. I’m having a difficult time keeping the lid on the pot and not looking in on the process … but I am resisting.

After combining everything I wanted to add to the pot, I let the low heat and iron pot do their thing to the ingredients under the lid for as long as you can stand it.

After the fact: The big pot is empty now. The soup was incredible, hearty and oh so delicious.

Leave a Reply

