Feast Days and the Holidays, no not the Vacation kind


Easter, Christmas, Thanksgiving, you  know, celebratory days like those. Observed or not by those who do or don’t are still times during the year when you hang out with friends & family. Those are also the typical feast days when tri-annual big dish productions are assembled and served up on stylish purpose set tables. The enjoyment is immense, even the little green veggie balls from Brussels (I love’m).

Image iStockphoto

Typical holiday turkey treatment - iStophoto image

Sometimes it is a total blast, other times not so much, depending on how the familial relationships are holding up or not at the time of whatever particular feast day is being feted; also dependent on how loose ones tongue gets.

I’m divorced. I’m in a wonderful but long distance relationship and cooking a big bird for myself would be silly and  just does not have the same ‘feel’ you get when you’re putting your entire kitchen and all of your cooking tricks to mouth-watering good use. It’s more of an envious feeling, not a lonely feeling, no. It’s not even a hungry feeling. And perhaps it just rises to the surface when I find that I still crave the taste of carved bird.

Not me - image curtesy of http://www.menshealth.co.uk

It is almost embarrassing to admit but I’ve nearly forgotten what a big brown juicy turkey actually tastes like. Really. It has been nearly a decade now and I still have a tough ‘food‘ time around the feast day celebrations because I don’t have someone close by whom I can cook for. It’s been that long since I’ve built my special turkey stuffing and then lovingly pushed the trussed bird into the hot oven, that long since I’ve whipped up tasty potatoes dishes and experimented with various vegetable dishes and gravies to die for.

Point is, these meals are simply more enjoyable when shared with others. Being single is a drawback that way; after years of traditional feast days, belt loosening meals and all that make the days table time memorable.

wild turkeys

three wild birds - image curtesy of http://www.outdoorlife.com

I’m not complaining nor crying in my soup. I just want me some succulent and crispy skinned turkey, mashed potatoes, delectable gravy, home made cranberry sauce, creamy brussel sprouts, honey thyme carrots, a wonderful salad and perhaps some desert.

Oh wait, this weekend it’s slabs of ham, legs of lamb or rabbit bits …

bon appetite

Leave a Reply

